LG by-polls on May 7 – 06 May 2023

Of 449 polling stations in Karachi, 292 declared highly-sensitive, 157 sensitive

The local bodies (LB) by-elections in 24 districts of Sindh will be held on Sunday and polling will continue from 8am to 5pm without any break.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), balloting will be held on 63 seats of different categories, including 11 seats of the UC chairman and vice chairman in Karachi division and 15 seats of ward members.

Election will be held on UC-4 New Karachi, UC-6 North Nazimabad and UC-13 New Karachi in District Central, UC-2 Korangi in District Korangi, UC-3 Shah Lateef Town, UC-8 Landhi, UC-1, UC-2 Orangi, UC-8 Mominabad in District West, UC-2 Bihar Colony Lyari in District South. Combined election of chairman and vice chairman also held in UC-2 Baldia in District Keamari.

A total of 449 polling stations and 1,586 polling booths have been established and not a single polling station is normal. As many as 292 are “very sensitive” and 157 have been declared “sensitive”. A total of 434 candidates are in the contest, while the total number of male and female voters is 690,295.

Sindh Chief Secretary Dr M Sohail Rajput has said that all arrangements for the by-election will be completed on time. He said that CCTV cameras would be installed at very sensitive polling stations.

Additional IG Karachi Javed Alam Odho said that a security plan has been prepared regarding by-elections. “More than 6,707 security personnel will be deployed for election security,” he added.

Read more