Journalists body elects office bearers – 11 Jan 2023

CHARSADDA: Faiz Mohammad was elected as president and Haji Sadiqullah general secretary of Mohammadzai Union of Journalists (MUJ) here on Tuesday.

A meeting of the election committee was held here with Mansoorullah in the chair. Faiz Mohammad was elected as president and Siddiqullah general secretary. Other office-bearers included vice-president Zahid Khan, joint secretary Mohammad Tariq Qureshi, finance secretary Alf Khan Sherpao and press secretary Pir Asif Jan. Nusrat Hussain was elected as chairman of the union’s general body.

PROTEST: The traders, political workers and civil society members staged a protest rally at Farooq-i-Azam Chowk against inflation, unavailability of flour and gas and power outages.

A large number of activists of political parties and traders participated in the demonstration.

They criticised the government for unbridled increase in the prices of flour, sugar, ghee, etc.

The traders said that their businesses had come to a standstill. They demanded the provincial and federal governments to take practical steps for giving relief to the people.

Read more